Bishop dominates Northwest 1A accolades

Dec. 24, 2013 @ 03:10 PM

Bishop McGuinness came away with three players of the year and four coach of the year awards as the Northwest 1A Conference recently handed out fall sports honors.
In cross country, Jack Brannan of the Villains was named top male runner, and Robert Youtz was coach of the year for each squad — which swept the state 1A championships .
Brannan was joined on the all-conference boys team by teammates Peter Balogh, William Johnson and Zack Jones and Bryan Soltis. Sarah Ann Craven, Molly Garner, Sarah Grace Johnson, Carly Kreber, Claire McDonough, Bailey Seach and Lexi Weidman of the Villains made the girls team.
Kyndall Cortes of Bishop was named the girls tennis player of the year and was joined by teammates Morgan Auger, Adaire Hudson, Anna Owen and Anna Petrangeli on the all-conference team.
Jessica Brandewie was player of the year and Missi Brandewie was coach of the year from Bishop in volleyball.
Julia Brown, Tia Cappuccio, Julie Dorosiewicz and Julia Kane of the Villains made the all-conference team with Jessica Brandewie.
Ben Chappelow, Logan Smith, Luke Vanorre and Will Webster of Bishop were named all-conference in soccer. Mitchell Brown of Mount Airy was player of the year while Will Hurley of the Granite Bears was coach of the year.
Bishop’s all-conference football selections were Nick Burns, Joe McNamara, Andrew Rowley and Reed Stahl on offence; and Nick Castellano, Tommy Koesters and Greg Salomon on defense.
East Surry headed the player of the year selections, with Lucas Koons chosen on offense and J.T. Lichtenberger picked on defense. Mitchell Brown of Mount Airy was specialist of the year with Kelly Holder of the Granite Bears coach of the year.