Thomasville, East headline all-CCC football team

Dec. 24, 2013 @ 03:07 PM

Thomasville placed eight players and East Davidson had seven on the All-Central Carolina Conference football team recently announced by the league.
Roy Norris and Christian Young of the Bulldogs were picked on offense while Tyquan Anderson, Zac Anderson, Akeem Davis, J.J. Hinson, Quadell Hill and Jahari Thomas made it on defense.
Brett Fuller, Salvador Pecina, Michael Ramos and Damien Williams of East were chosen on offense with Cody Bowers, Nathan Campbell and Tyler Rhodes picked on defense.
North Rowman swept the coach and player of the year awards. Joe Nixon won the coach’s award, with Jareke Chambers chosen as the top offensive player and Xavier Robinson tapped as the top defensive player.
Tyler Oldaker and Austin Campbell of East, and Enrique Solis of Thomasville were among all-conference picks in men’s cross country. Philip Simons of Salisbury was named player of year, with Lynn Ludwig of West Davidson picked as coach of the year.
Hillary Coffman of East was the coach of the year selection in women’s tennis as Ashley Taylor of the Golden Eagles made the all-conference team. Alexandra Drye of Salisbury was player of the year.
Salvador Pecina, Ryan McIntire and Mitchell Thomas were all-conference selections from East in men’s soccer while Isai Ocampo and Enrique Solis of Thomasville were picked. Bobby Cardell of Salisbury is player of the year, with Adam Schofield of West Davidson goalie of the year and Tim DeZego of Salisbury coach of the year.
West swept awards in women’s cross country as Callie Wynn was chosen as runner of the year and Ludwig was picked as coach of the year. Ariel Grimsley, Jordan Harrison, Whitney Manns of East; and Charity Oliver of Thomasville were named all-conference.
All-conference selections in volleyball included Taylor McPhatter and Taylor Moretz of East; and Christina Coleman of Thomasville. Makala Lytton of North Rowan was named player of the year, with Felecia Bradley of Lexington chosen as coach of the year.
Sam Smith was the only all-conference selection from East in women’s golf. Isabella Rusher of Salisbury was named player of the year with Dale Snyder of the Hornets named coach of the year.