Red Raiders rule PAC-6 all-conference squad

Dec. 24, 2013 @ 03:02 PM

Rodney McKoy of T.W. Andrews was named PAC-6 2A football coach of the year, his workhorse running back Marquell Cartwright took offensive player of the year honors and 15 other members of the state champion Red Raiders were selected to the all-conference team recently announced by the league.
Other choices from Andrews on offense included Lamar Raynard, Rontei Wilkes, Brighton Pierce, Justin Lea, Brandon Galloway and Delmonico Hill. Xavier Lovette, Alphonso McGraw, Brandon Eans, Ivan Milliken, Joseph White, Dre Thomasson, Van Hayes and Carlos Manning were picked on defense.
Brayton Hardin, Wyatt Rains, Adam Peace, and Alex Kestner were picked from Wheatmore. Jordan Johnson, Jax Gregory and Tyler Mathai made it for Trinity.
Quan Covington of Eastern Randolph was named the best defensive player.
Kelly Davis of state runnerup Wheatmore took player of the year honors in volleyball while Rodney Kirby of the Warriors was selected coach of the year.
Kathryn Johnson, Georgia Garrison, Casey Hawkins and Emily Brown joined Davis as Wheatmore selections on the all-conference team. Ciara Norris of Andrews and Casey Davis of Trinity were among others selected.
Daniel Newcomer was named the offensive player of the year after helping lead Trinity to a 10-0 record in the conference. Mike Sink of the Bulldogs was the coach of the year.
Hunter Dean, Chase Faircloth, Jonathon Adkins, Victor Viores, Eddie Torreblanca and Brandon Cole also made the all-conference team from Trinity. Kyle Mosley, Sam Becker and Tanner Whiteford made it from Wheatmore. Leon Sinuhue and Donnison Dezantle were chosen from Andrews.
Daniel Saldierna of Randleman was named the top defensive player.
Mary Vecellio of Wheatmore was chosen women’s tennis player of the year while Laura Monroe was picked as coach of the year after directing the Warriors to a 10-0 record in the conference.
Stephanie Fortner, Jordan Myers and Jessica Myers joined Vecellio on the all-conference team. Hannah Wade and Hannah Snyder were chosen from Andrews; and Catherine Ryu was selected from Trinity.
Kaitlyn Kropelnicki and Reece Frank of Trinity; and Alexis Rowell of Wheatmore earned all-conference honors in women’s cross country. Aaron Bowman of Randleman was coach of the year while Kaleigh Burrow of the Tigers was runner of the year.
Jeremiah Monroe and Madison Fountain of Wheatmore; and Evan Carter of Andrews were among the all-conference runners in boys cross country.
Bowman was coach of the year with Trevor Deaton of the Tigers named runner of the year.