Bishop’s Robinson places second in AP coach of year voting

Apr. 04, 2013 @ 09:10 PM


RALEIGH — Two men who led their teams to undefeated seasons and Class 4A championships are The Associated Press prep basketball coaches of the year in North Carolina.

Ty Baumgardner of Charlotte Olympic won the 2012-13 boys award Thursday and Chris East of Raleigh Millbrook earned the girls award.
Baumgardner received 15 of a possible 22 votes from sports writers across the state. Newton Foard’s Rob Bliss was second with four votes after turning around a program that was 5-41 before his arrival two seasons ago, while first-year coach Perry Tyndall of 2A champ Kinston was the only other coach listed on multiple ballots.
On the girls side, East had 10 votes to five for Kinston’s Hubert Quinerly, a second-year coach whose team won a 2A title in its first finals appearance.
Two former AP girls coach winners, Bishop McGuinness’ Brian Robinson and Charlotte Harding’s Anthony Jones, also received multiple votes. Robinson, the 2010 winner, had three votes after winning a record eighth-straight 1A title. Jones, last year’s winner, had two votes after leading his team to a second straight 3A crown.
Baumgardner led Olympic to a 30-0 record, the first team from Mecklenburg County to go undefeated since West Charlotte did it in 1986.
East led Millbrook to a 33-0 finish and its second straight 4A title by beating Greensboro Page 62-56 last month for the title.
The AP will name its players of the year today.

CHICAGO — Aaron Gordon, who is committed to play at Arizona, scored 24 points and eight rebounds to lead the West to a 110-99 victory over the East in the McDonald’s All-American game on Wednesday night.
In a game that featured an array of dunks, Gordon pleased the United Center crowd of 15,818 with a number of fast-break slams on his way to the MVP award.
Andrew Wiggins, considered the top recruit in the country, scored 19 points for the East and Dakari Johnson finished with 12.
The game featured six Kentucky commits: twin brothers Andrew Harrison and Aaron Harrison, Johnson, Marcus Lee, James Young and Julius Randle, who verbally committed a few weeks ago.
Wiggins, who is undecided, is considering Kentucky, along with Kansas, North Carolina and Florida State. A commitment from the Canadian prep star would give Kentucky coach John Calipari one of the best recruiting classes of all time.
Arkansas recruit Bobby Portis Jr. had 12 points for the West.
The game also featured hometown star Jabari Parker, a Duke recruit.
Parker won four straight Illinois state championships with Simeon and was ranked as the top player in the class before Wiggins reclassified as a senior at the beginning of the school year.
Wiggins and Parker squared off most of the game and Parker finished with 10 points. Parker’s dad, Sonny, played in the NBA, and so did Wiggins’ dad, Mitchell.

CHICAGO — Mercedes Russell had 16 points and had 12 rebounds to lead the West to a 92-64 win over the East in the girls McDonald’s All-American game at the United Center on Wednesday night.
The Tennessee signee was voted the game’s MVP.
The West jumped out to a 20-10 lead behind Tyler Scaife’s seven points. Rebecca Greenwell extended the lead to 31-13 on a 3-pointer. The Duke signee came up limping after being fouled on a layup attempt with 3:28 left in the half. She did not return and finished with eight points, going 2 for 3 from 3-point range.
“It’s painful, but it’s not excruciating, it’s nothing new, it’s something I have dealt with this whole season,” Greenwell said. “I think I am going to have an MRI soon. Before I even hurt it I had arthroscopic surgery scheduled for Tuesday because I had this ongoing knee problem all season.”
Scaife, the player of the year from Arkansas, finished with 15 points and four assists.
Diamond DeShields had 15 points and Makayla Epps added 13 for the East. DeShields has signed to play at North Carolina and Epps is going to Kentucky.
North Carolina had the most All-Americans with three. DeShields played with Stephanie Mavunga and against future Tar Heel Jessica Washington.


Wells Fargo, along with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, announced the standings for winter sports in the Wells Fargo Cup competitions for the 2012-13 academic year on Thursday.
The Wells Fargo Cup is sponsored by Wells Fargo and the NCHSAA. The award recognizes the high schools that achieve the best overall interscholastic athletic performance within each of the state’s four competitive classifications. The Cup program, formerly known as the Wachovia Cup, is in its 33rd year.
Defending champion Cary Green Hope sits atop the 4A standings with Raleigh Broughton in second place, while defending Cup champion Cardinal Gibbons paces the 3A group of schools.  Carrboro holds the top position among 2A schools, with Lake Norman Charter and Hendersonville sitting one-two in the 1A classification standings.
In the 1A classification, the top three teams remained the same from the fall standings, led by Lake Norman Charter with 360 points. Hendersonville, winner of the most Cups overall with 13, is in second with 335 points. Perennial power Bishop McGuinness is in third with 300 points, winning its eighth straight girls basketball championship and taking third among 1A schools in boys swimming.
Wells Fargo Cup points are determined by a system based on performance in state championship events. All schools that finish in the top eight positions (plus ties) earn points. In the playoff events involving teams from more than one classification, Wells Fargo Cup points are awarded based on the school’s standing against other schools in its own classification. If fewer then eight schools from a classification compete in a sport, only those schools that are represented are eligible to receive the Wells Fargo Cup points.
Points are awarded for all sports as follows: 50 for first, 45 for second, 40 for third, 35 for fourth, 30 for fifth, 25 for sixth, 20 for seventh and 15 for eighth. In the event of a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points based on the number of teams that tie and the number of teams that finish higher in the standings. Five points are awarded for each sanctioned sport in which a school competes.
Wells Fargo Cup standings are announced three times each school year: once after the fall, again after the winter sports, and then concluding with the winner after the spring sports season ends in June. The engraved silver cups are presented during NCHSAA Day activities at UNC-Chapel Hill each fall.