Leach earns AP All-State

Apr. 04, 2013 @ 12:24 AM

Oxford Webb's Isaiah Hicks and Charlotte Providence Day's Jatarie White headline the 2012-13 Associated Press all-state prep basketball teams for North Carolina.

Hicks, a North Carolina signee, was a unanimous pick on all 22 votes from sports writers across the state to lead the 12-player men's team in results released Wednesday.

White, considered one of the nation's top juniors, earned 20 votes to lead the 12-player women's squad.

Hicks, a 6-foot-9 senior, averaged about 24 points, 15 rebounds and eight blocks to help Webb win the Class 3-A championship and make the AP all-state team for the second straight year.

In the 3-A final, Hicks had 34 points, a finals-record 30 rebounds and seven blocked shots in the overtime win.

The McDonald's All-American is a five-star prospect and the No. 20 recruit nationally, according to Scout.com.

White, a 6-3 junior, averaged about 19 points and 10 rebounds to lead Providence Day to a fourth straight 3-A independent-schools championship. White is ranked as the No. 12 recruit in her class by ESPN.

Hicks and White were the Gatorade players of the year for North Carolina.

There were nine returnees to the AP all-state teams, led by three-time selections Kennedy Meeks of West Charlotte — also a UNC signee and McDonald's All-American — on the men's side and Jamie Cherry of West Craven on the women's team.

West Craven senior forward Josh Cuthbertson and Person County senior swingman Tyrone Outlaw Jr., made the AP men's team for a second straight year.

Rounding out the men's team are: Waxhaw Cuthbertson's Shelton Mitchell, Cornelius Hough's Luke Maye, Eastern Alamance's Lamont Robinson, East Burke's Clay Byrd, Southwest Guilford's Terrell Leach, Clayton's Gary Clark, Shelby's Gabe DeVoe and Kinston's Denzel Keyes.

On the women's side, Salisbury junior forward Brielle Blaire, Rocky Mount senior guard J'Kyra Brown, Catawba Bandys junior guard Madi Story and Greensboro Page junior guard Paris Kea also made the AP team for the second straight year.

Rounding out the women's team are: Asheville Carolina Day's Haley Laughter, Weddington's Stephanie Watts, Gastonia Forestview's Bre Armstrong, East Surry's Keri Fulp, Lejeune's Chatori Major and West Rowan's Shay Steele.

The AP prep basketball coaches of the year for North Carolina will be released Thursday. The players of the year will be released Friday.


The 2012-13 Associated Press all-state prep basketball teams for North Carolina, as selected by 22 sports writers across the state in results released Wednesday. With school, position, class and number of votes in parentheses:


Isaiah Hicks, Oxford Webb, C, Sr. (22)

Kennedy Meeks, West Charlotte, C, Sr. (20)

Shelton Mitchell, Waxhaw Cuthbertson, PG, Jr. (19)

Luke Maye, Cornelius Hough, F, So. (15)

Lamont Robinson, Eastern Alamance, PG, Jr. (14)

Josh Cuthbertson, West Craven, F, Sr. (14)

Clay Byrd, East Burke, G, Sr. (13)

Terrell Leach, Southwest Guilford, G, Sr. (13)

Tyrone Outlaw Jr., Person County, G/F, Sr. (10)

Gary Clark, Clayton, F, Jr. (9)

Gabe DeVoe, Shelby, PG, Jr. (9)

Denzel Keyes, Kinston, F, Sr. (9)


Jatarie White, Charlotte Providence, F, Jr. (20)

Jamie Cherry, West Craven, G, Jr. (19)

Haley Laughter, Asheville Carolina Day, G/F, Sr. (18)

Stephanie Watts, Weddington, G, So. (18)

Brielle Blaire, Salisbury, F, Jr. (18)

J'Kyra Brown, Rocky Mount, G, Sr. (17)

Madi Story, Catawba Bandys, G, Jr. (16)

Bre Armstrong, Gastonia Forestview, F, Sr. (11)

Keri Fulp, East Surry, C, Sr. (11)

Paris Kea, Greensboro Page, PG, Jr. (11)

Chatori Major, Lejeune, G, Sr. (10)

Shay Steele, West Rowan, F, Sr. (10)