New Hope Christian girls capture tourney title

Dec. 31, 2013 @ 08:09 PM


WASHINGTON, D.C. — The New Hope Christian Academy girls basketball team enjoyed a capital time in the Title IX Tournament in Our Nation’s Capital.
The Phoenix defeated Life Center of New Jersey 64-37 in the title game on Monday night to improve to 14-0 on the season.
New Hope’s Kristina King earned Tournament-MVP honors and was joined on the all-tourney team by teammates Katherine Harris and Lucky Rudd.


ASHEBORO — Jarrod Rogers pumped in 15 points as Trinity’s boys blitzed Randleman 61-39 to win Asheboro Courier-Tribune tournament championship on Monday night.
Rogers was named the tournament MVP for the Bulldogs (12-0). Trinity’s Daniel Newcomer netted 18 points in the final and also made the all-tournament team, as did Hunter Osborne, who collected nine assists, seven rebounds and six points in the title game.
Alex McGavic grabbed 14 rebounds and scored six points for the Bulldogs, who visit Southwestern Randolph on Jan. 6.
In Monday’s fifth-place game, Wheatmore topped Southwestern 80-68. Madison Fountain led the Warriors (9-3) with 22 points. Marshall Lange added 18. Wheamore plays host to Southwest Guilford on Monday.

GASTONIA — Orlando Christian Prep slipped past High Point Christian Academy 77-69 in the championship game of the Upward Classic at Gaston Day School on Monday night.
Joey McLean led the Cougars (12-2) with 28 points, while Michael Provenzano added 12 and A.J. Phillip had nine.
Adonys Henriquez and Brandon Maxwell paced OCP with 17 points each.
HPCA plays at Greensboro Day School on January 7.


RALEIGH — Havelock’s Jim Bob Bryant has been named The Associated Press prep football coach of the year for North Carolina after guiding his program to a third straight state championship.
Bryant earned the AP honor for the second time in three seasons after a 16-0 season that ended with a win against Concord in the Class 3A North Carolina High School Athletic Association championship.
Bryant earned seven of a possible 13 votes from sports writers across the state in results released Tuesday.
North Rowan’s Joe Nixon was second with three votes after guiding his program to a 13-1 record to set a school single-season record for wins. Eastern Wayne’s Bubba Williams and Morganton Freedom’s Blair Hardin also received votes.
Bryant was first named coach of the year in 2011 after guiding Havelock to a 16-0 record and a state title in his fourth season. Before that run, he was focused on trying to get his team to take the next step after losing to Eastern Alamance in the state semifinals for two straight years.
Havelock has won 47 of 48 games over the past three seasons, losing only to New Bern last year. The 2012 team ended the year with a 55-21 win against Concord, then closed this season with a rematch with the Spiders. Concord led 10-0 early in the second quarter of the 3-A final before Derrell Scott — who was named to the AP all-state team Monday — broke free for a 51-yard score. It was the first of three straight for Scott that put Havelock in control on the way to a 21-13 win.