Opinion

Jul. 09, 2014 @ 09:14 PM

Your View: Walker/Berger race will impact Tillis/Hagan battle

The outcome of Tuesday’s runoff election between Phil Berger Jr. and Mark Walker will not only determine the Republican nominee for the Sixth Congressional District race, but it will also have a potential negative impact on the upcoming Senate race between Thom Tillis and Kay Hagan.


Jul. 09, 2014 @ 09:11 PM

Our View: Childish senators walk out on their responsibilities

It has become obvious that the state’s Republican leadership isn’t marching in lockstep as it runs North Carolina’s government.


Jul. 09, 2014 @ 09:05 PM

Clarence Page: New border politics: Blame Obama first

As thousands of unaccompanied Central American children stream across his state's southern border, Texas Gov. Rick Perry took a paranoid turn.


Jul. 08, 2014 @ 08:44 PM

Your View: Will Kilby Hotel rise from the rubble?

In lieu of the carnage that was once the Kilby Hotel, I was compelled as an artist to create this editorial cartoon for The High Point Enterprise. Along with others in the community, I was saddened by the demise of this local historical icon.


Jul. 08, 2014 @ 08:41 PM

Vince Wheeler: Your View is your forum

You may recall a few weeks ago that Megan Ward, editor of The High Point Enterprise, explained right here the Enterprise’s new policy of pre-clearing reader comments before they’re posted to news stories and opinion pieces on our website — hpe.com.


Jul. 08, 2014 @ 08:33 PM

Thomas Sowell: Amnesty lite is still amnesty

Not since a 42-to-1 underdog named Buster Douglas knocked out undefeated heavyweight champion Mike Tyson in 1990 has there been an upset like economics professor Dave Brat defeating House Majority Leader Eric Cantor in the Republican primary in Virginia.


Jul. 07, 2014 @ 08:20 PM

Is diversity the answer to all problems?

As another Independence Day observance passes, maybe we should also consider the latest fad among our "enlightened" fellow citizens; diversity.


Jul. 07, 2014 @ 08:14 PM

John Hood: Serve up a different license plate

RALEIGH — As often happens at the North Carolina Legislature, the new fiscal year has begun with the House and Senate not yet finished with a budget-adjustment bill. One issue I hope doesn’t get left on the table is a House provision that would allow me to take the “First in Flight” license plate off my car.


Jul. 06, 2014 @ 09:02 PM

Your View: Family deals with pit bull attack

On June 21, I was privileged to attend a fundraising dinner held at Mount Zion Wesleyan Church for Kim Jones, the victim of a recent vicious pit bull attack.  The resulting wounds inflicted on this lady’s ankle area were horrific.


Jul. 06, 2014 @ 08:03 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Let’s terminate the texting terrorism

BY ROBERT (DUSTY) SCHOCH

Your cell phone poll results likely surprised you (Vince Wheeler column July 2) because you asked the wrong question.  Your polling question was: “The U.S. Supreme Court says law enforcement officers need a warrant to check your cell phone if they think you have been texting while driving. Is that good or bad.”  You reported today (July 2) that 65 % of us said bad and 35% good.
The Supreme Court (in the Riley v. California and U.S. v. Wurie cases) didn’t say that. Riley and Wurie weren’t being tried for texting.


Jul. 06, 2014 @ 02:37 AM

Your View: Guest Column - Are fracking’s pluses worth potential risk?

BY PHIL SLOAN
    Since the bills have been passed and signed by Gov. McCrory authorizing rules to be established and the process known as "fracking" to begin, I hope that we North Carolinians proceed from here with EXTREME caution.


Jul. 06, 2014 @ 02:35 AM

Our View: Ups & Downs - Murals around downtown

THUMBS UP to Ryan Saunders and his effort to get local businesses, property owners and mural artists from near and far on the same page with the idea of decorating buildings throughout the city, particularly in the downtown area, with attractive murals.


Jul. 05, 2014 @ 10:50 PM

Al Campbell: Marriage isn’t the government’s business

At the risk of being or even sounding redundant, I feel compelled to join in and add my thoughts to that which has become and continues to grow even larger each day. As once penned years ago, now is the time to for every man or woman to come to the aid of his or her country, or something like that, my thoughts are simmering within while anxiously awaiting an outside public exposure.


Jul. 05, 2014 @ 04:45 AM

Your View: Walker will be the people’s voice

BY CAMILLE PEPE-FADIA

You 6th Congressional District voters who didn't vote in May and those who voted for Mark Walker (I did!), please make it to the polls on July 15. We need all of you who want to have a voice in Congress, to come out and vote for Walker. At least, I want a voice in Congress.  How about you?


Jul. 04, 2014 @ 10:43 PM

Michael Reagan: Understand the Hobby Lobby decision

Hillary Clinton called the Hobby Lobby decision "deeply disturbing."
The White House reacted like the world had just ended.
Harry Reid promised that Democrats in Congress would "fight to preserve women's access to contraceptive coverage and keep bosses out of the examination room."
All this liberal hysteria followed the Supreme Court's ruling on Monday that for-profit employers who have religious objections cannot be forced to provide their employees with contraception coverage under the rules of Obamacare.