Opinion

Apr. 02, 2014 @ 07:36 PM

Your View: Medicare cuts harm home health efforts

Seniors across North Carolina rely on the Medicare home health benefit to receive clinically advanced, cost effective and patient preferred care at home.


Apr. 02, 2014 @ 07:34 PM

Clarence Page: Colbert’s irony and Twitter don’t mix

One of the unwritten but widely respected rules of satire is that somehow, somewhere, someone simply isn’t going to get the joke.
And if they don’t get the joke, you get taken seriously about something you don’t really believe.


Apr. 01, 2014 @ 09:05 PM

Our View: This tax must remain

As excitement builds this week toward the official opening of the 2014 spring High Point Market, some market and city of High Point leaders also are looking forward a few weeks to the time when the N.C. General Assembly reconvenes.


Apr. 01, 2014 @ 09:04 PM

Your View: Electric cars have not yet arrived

Are electric cars practical for the American driver?


Apr. 01, 2014 @ 09:02 PM

Thomas Sowell: Will facts or factions rule?

At a time when polls show public opinion turning against the Democrats, some Republicans seem to be turning against each other. Even with the prospect of being able to win control of the Senate in this fall’s elections, some Republicans are busy manufacturing ammunition for their own circular firing squad.


Mar. 31, 2014 @ 10:35 PM

Your View: Remember the real Obamacare lies

My view is totally different than Carl Routh’s view about Obamacare, (Your View, Feb. 27). Republicans do not hate Obama; it’s his disastrous policies that give reason for the GOP to respond to him negatively.


Mar. 31, 2014 @ 09:33 PM

John Hood: Give the president more power

RALEIGH — Congress should give President Barack Obama more power — when it comes to the issue of free trade, that is.


Mar. 31, 2014 @ 04:49 PM

Our View: The American legal system is designed to settle disputes

When the family of a High Point University student who died two years ago filed a lawsuit against the university this month, a vastly different version of the young man’s death emerged than the one High Point police and local and state medical examiners concluded back then.


Mar. 31, 2014 @ 02:35 PM

Your View: We need a leader to preserve Kilby Hotel

As a senior citizen and longtime furniture worker in High Point I would like to express my opinion about the old Kilby Hotel. As a historical building I think it is very important to preserve it, especially for Washington Street and the black community.


Mar. 30, 2014 @ 07:40 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Maricich off base with Pre-Market slam

This is in response to The High Point Enterprise article of March 26, where the CEO of International Market Centers, Bob Maricich, said “Pre-Market is singularly the most stupid and destructive idea I’ve heard of.”


Mar. 30, 2014 @ 01:19 PM

Susan Brown: Making a case for voter ID

Recent actions taken by states to enhance the integrity of America’s electoral process by requiring voter ID cards, an idea that most Americans support, has caused quite a stir amongst liberals. Author James Boyard once wrote, “Democracy must be something more than two wolves and a sheep voting on what to have for dinner.” Wolves don’t play fair, especially up here in Alaska.


Mar. 29, 2014 @ 07:17 PM

Al Campbell: Where is ‘free’ education opportunity headed?

Education, as we know it, a key social element might well be in jeopardy today and in the future by reversing the original intent of this developing nation.


Mar. 28, 2014 @ 08:15 PM

Kristine Kaiser: Don’t risk environment with fracking

Since millions of gallons of toxic waste spewed into the Dan River from a Duke Energy coal ash storage pit, the process of fracking or hydraulic fracturing is coming under new scrutiny.


Mar. 27, 2014 @ 09:34 PM

Your View: Eliminate fear between Muslims, non-Muslims

I am a seventh-grade Pakistani-American at Ferndale Middle School. Just because a woman wears a hijab does not make her a terrorist.


Mar. 27, 2014 @ 09:31 PM

Your View Poll: Potholes