Opinion

Sep. 12, 2014 @ 07:03 PM

Kristine Kaiser: Disrespect of leaders cheapens us

Disrespect is N.C. Speaker of the House of Representatives Thom Tillis’s most recent problem as he attempts to unseat U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan.


Sep. 12, 2014 @ 03:01 AM

Our View: Ups & Downs - The CANpaign was a success

THUMBS UP to all of the area participants in Tuesday’s CANpaign food drive which is estimated to have raised more than 50,000 pounds of canned food to help restock a number of local food pantries.


Sep. 12, 2014 @ 02:58 AM

Your View: Guest Column - Police face dangerous situations on the streets

I recently read the Aug. 31 story about protesters at the Ohio Walmart protesting the shooting of a young man who was waving a gun and refused to put it down when police told him to.


Sep. 12, 2014 @ 02:54 AM

Stan Spangle Sr: Navy studies placement of Gideon Bibles in lodges

Reminder: Our next veterans get-together at Highland UMC will be Oct. 11 (the second Saturday of October instead of the first Saturday). This will be our last meeting in 2014.


Sep. 10, 2014 @ 11:12 PM

Your View: We’re all ‘winners’ with Cycling Classic

As we all know, there is a lot going on in High Point this year.  It seems we all get bogged down with controversial matter in our local government.


Sep. 10, 2014 @ 11:11 PM

Your View: Guest Column - GOP conservatives stand up for U.S. workers

National Review Online reported that the Center for Immigration Studies (CIS) showed that net employment growth in the United States since 2000 has gone entirely to immigrants, legal and illegal.


Sep. 10, 2014 @ 11:09 PM

Clarence Page: When sportsmen behave badly — again

Again the sports world is rattled by men behaving badly, but this time with a twist: NFL player Ray Rice tried to stay when he should have gone, while NBA team owner Bruce Levenson left despite good reasons for him to stick around.


Sep. 09, 2014 @ 10:27 PM

Your View: Brandon’s idea isn’t good for High Point

I was both surprised and disappointed to read that mayoral candidate Marcus Brandon proposes changing the city’s charter to eliminate High Point’s “council-manager” form of government.  In its place, he proposes the politicized mayor-council form of government where elected officials become the city’s administrators.


Sep. 10, 2014 @ 03:44 PM

Vince Wheeler: No vacancies now

There’s a full house again at the Trinity City Hall.


Sep. 10, 2014 @ 03:43 PM

Thomas Sowell: Mob rule economics

While we talk about democracy and equal rights, we seem increasingly to let both private and government decisions be determined by mob rule. There is nothing democratic about mob rule. It means that some people's votes are to be overruled by other people's disruptions, harassments and threats.


Sep. 08, 2014 @ 08:48 PM

Your View: Muslim group counters extremist violence

"Whosoever killed a person... it shall be as if he killed all mankind and whoso gave life to one, it shall be as if he had given life to all mankind" (5:33). In the spirit of this verse, the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community is beginning its 4th annual Muslims for Life Campaign. All across the nation and in several universities in North Carolina, local Ahmadiyya mosques are holding blood drives in memory of the victims of 9/11. Over the last three years, this effort has raised over 33,000 pints of blood.


Sep. 08, 2014 @ 08:45 PM

Your View: Officials shirked duties regarding swim club

Now that the former Knollcrest Swim Club has reopened under new ownership, here is the Paul Harvey rest of the story.


Sep. 08, 2014 @ 08:29 PM

John Hood: UNC System makes progress

RALEIGH — When Republicans won their legislative majorities in 2010 and expanded them in 2012, they ran on a platform of fiscal conservatism and reform. They’ve largely delivered on it. Tax and regulatory burdens are lower. State spending growth has been restrained. Lawmakers have implemented major changes in transportation funding and education policy.


Sep. 07, 2014 @ 11:02 PM

Your View: We need these ‘3’ on City Council

I'm happy to have a chance to vote for folks who will strive to turn our city around. Cindy Davis, Jim Bronnert and Jim Davis are the perfect three people for City Council.


Sep. 07, 2014 @ 11:00 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Global warming, cap and trade — what nonsense!

After the coldest winter in recorded history, I thought maybe the climate change folks might do a little prethinking on global warming. No such luck! These folks, led by an ignorant Al Gore and our truthful President Obama, are out in full force after our first warm day.