Opinion

Sep. 28, 2014 @ 03:49 AM

Our View: How do we prevent these deaths?

Can’t we do something?
That’s our question. We don’t have answers, just the question.

 


Sep. 28, 2014 @ 12:42 AM

Your View: A mayor-council government could handle job

Most of us had to give up too soon our fantasies about Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. It is touching that a man of Tom Terrell's age and experience still believes that city managers are apolitical.


Sep. 28, 2014 @ 12:40 AM

Your View: Pre-Market was great success

On March 31 of this year I wrote a letter to the editor regarding the comments of the CEO of the International Market Centers, Bob Maricich.


Sep. 27, 2014 @ 08:56 PM

Al Campbell: Respect … or lack thereof

You might have seen in the past, comments from this writer favoring the network and programing of Public Radio and this is by no means a retraction of previous appraisals.  Whatever the appearance of this rendering, should there be a need for clarification, I will first explain this rendering with hopes of adequacy


Sep. 27, 2014 @ 12:10 AM

Your View: Sims verdict was racial

The case of former Mayor Bernita Sims is a racial verdict. Six months house arrest for a worthless check? She is a first-time offender. I've seen people with charges more serious get lesser punishment.


Sep. 27, 2014 @ 12:08 AM

Your View: Tell Congress to protect our clean water

Clean water is fundamental for people and wildlife. But right now, 2 million miles of streams and millions of acres of wetlands are stuck in a legal limbo, leaving the drinking water supplies for roughly one third of all Americans, and many species of wildlife unprotected.


Sep. 26, 2014 @ 08:54 PM

Kristine Kaiser: Incentivize education, not automakers

Gov. Pat McCrory’s administration is aggressively attempting to lure a large-scale automotive factory to North Carolina. While McCrory has been somewhat secretive about the business development strategy, new details are emerging; there is some action.


Sep. 26, 2014 @ 12:05 AM

Your View: Please don’t kill a child in a parking lot

I have written about this problem before. Nothing has been done to alleviate the problem.


Sep. 26, 2014 @ 12:04 AM

Your View: Tax break for rich? Doesn’t exist

The Sept. 14 guest column by Tom Taydus on the new North Carolina tax changes and how they will hurt retirees is just another "Tax them to death" Democratic response. What a bunch of trifle talk.


Sep. 26, 2014 @ 12:02 AM

Our View: Ups & Downs - Attacking the heroin crisis

THUMBS UP to The Heart of High Point Fund, which has joined the local effort to battle the heroin overdose epidemic that recently hit High Point.


Sep. 25, 2014 @ 11:52 PM

John Hood: Regions cast different votes

RALEIGH — If Republican Thom Tillis were running for the U.S. Senate from the state of North Piedmont, he’d be clearly favored to defeat incumbent Democrat Kay Hagan. Alternatively, if Hagan represented the state of Trianglia, she’d be such a shoo-in that we’d all lose interest in the race.


Sep. 24, 2014 @ 10:29 PM

Your View: Elect mayor, City Council that puts us first

Here it comes!  Here it comes!  Get ready!  Election season is upon us!


Sep. 24, 2014 @ 10:28 PM

Your View: Republicans want return to ‘equality’ of yesteryear

The right wing conservatives who now control the Republican Party, in my opinion, seem to have a longing for the “good old days.”  They believe the future of the USA lies in the past. I call it “Back To The Future” politics.


Sep. 25, 2014 @ 01:42 PM

Vince Wheeler: Murals could educate us, too

I think I’m partial to the frog.
Not sure why, but I really like the frog that artist Brian Davis painted on the W. English Road side of the French Interiors building downtown several months ago.


Sep. 24, 2014 @ 10:24 PM

Clarence Page: Obama's new racial reality, still divided

Whatever happened to "Obamamania?" Recent polls suggest that race relations have gotten worse since President Barack Obama's 2008 election — or, at least, that more of us Americans think they have.