Opinion

Aug. 14, 2014 @ 08:55 PM

Your View Poll: Seeking a city manager



Aug. 29, 2014 @ 10:00 PM

Your View: Guest Column - The Feds’ fiat dollars distort economy

In 1787 when our Founding Fathers debated the Constitution, they explicitly rejected giving the Federal government the power to “emit bills of credit,” that is, to print paper money.


Aug. 29, 2014 @ 09:54 PM

Kristine Kaiser: Tillis is pretty cozy with ALEC

Thom Tillis recently signed on to appeal Wake County Superior Court Judge Robert Hobgood’s decision that private school vouchers violate the state constitution; the judge ordered that “Opportunity Scholarships” for low-income students be stopped.


Aug. 28, 2014 @ 09:59 PM

Your View: Guest Column - This administration sleeps while ISIS grows

In 1938, Winston Churchill wrote  "While England Slept." He wrote of  how England's disposition for appeasement and delay rather than making hard decisions allowed Adolf Hitler's Nazis to go from a small group of brown-shirted thugs to one the most brutal killing machines yet seen, fueling World War II, which was catastrophic for England, Europe and, eventually, America.


Aug. 28, 2014 @ 09:57 PM

Our View: Ups & Downs — Hot vehicles are dangerous

THUMBS DOWN to people who continue to leave children and animals in parked vehicles, even when there has been plenty of publicity about the dangers from heat.


Aug. 28, 2014 @ 09:53 PM

Stan Spangle Sr.: VA is making referrals to speed up treatment

Mark your calendars now: Our next quarterly veterans get-together at Highland United Methodist Church, 1015 Mill Avenue in High Point, will be the second Saturday of October. That’s Oct. 11.


Aug. 27, 2014 @ 08:23 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Religious people face discrimination in US

Groups like the Freedom From Religion Foundation, FFRF, are constantly claiming something violates the First Amendment’s religion clause or the “Civil Rights Act of 1964,” and most of the time they are successful.  It is time to stand up and say enough is enough; they are discriminating against our rights.


Aug. 27, 2014 @ 08:21 PM

Your View: Don’t fiddle around … vote

Did Nero fiddle while Rome burned? Yes, he did. Does Obama play golf while life as we know it becomes unglued? Yes, he does.


Aug. 27, 2014 @ 08:19 PM

Clarence Page: After Ferguson's fires, vote next time

Televised scenes of fires and looters ravaging storefront buildings in Ferguson, Missouri brought flashbacks in my memory to other urban riots a half-century ago — and to lessons that Ferguson officials failed to learn.


Aug. 26, 2014 @ 11:09 PM

Vince Wheeler: Council runs counter to public opinion

High Point’s City Council is dead-set on hiring a new city manager before terms of all sitting members end in December.  And those officials are flying directly in the face of apparent popular public opinion.


Aug. 26, 2014 @ 11:03 PM

Your View: Lose our furniture market? No sir-ree, Bub

I read an article sometime back (“What would High Point be like without a furniture market?”), and it got to me thinking, “What would High Point be like with no twice-a-year High Point Market?”


Aug. 26, 2014 @ 11:01 PM

Thomas Sowell: Random thoughts on the passing scene

I don't know why we are spending our hard-earned money paying taxes to support a criminal justice system, when issues of guilt and innocence are being determined on television — and even punishment is being meted out by CNN's showing the home and address of the policeman accused in the Ferguson, Missouri shooting.


Aug. 25, 2014 @ 09:46 PM

Your View: What’s the story on greenway lights?

High Point City code 7-1-2 (A) states that the greenway is closed from sunset to sunrise. Recently, 14 new, expensive security lights were installed on the greenway from Centennial Street to HPU.


Aug. 25, 2014 @ 09:44 PM

Your View: No SMOD, uniforms for Guilford students

I am glad that the Guilford county school board is reviewing its uniform policy. I am against SMOD, or the standard mode of dress.