Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Feb. 27, 2013 @ 02:17 AM

Your View: Let Council know opinions on election changes

Many Council members have been discussing the election options long before they were sworn into office (four-year terms, two-year terms, nonpartisan runoffs, primaries, odd-year verses even-year elections, etc.).  Yet, they cannot seem to get on the same page and present to the constituents what it is they, as a body, want to do.


Feb. 26, 2013 @ 01:14 AM

Your View: N.C. officials are careful to prevent election fraud

Phyllis Picklesimer  (Your View, Feb. 18 “Voter ID law can prevent potential fraud”) wrote an interesting guest column about an Ohio woman who voted at her regular precinct after mistakenly assuming that her absentee ballot had failed to reach the board of elections on time.  The Ohio voter made that assumption because there was no notation of her having voted in that election in the registration books at her precinct.


Feb. 25, 2013 @ 02:37 AM

Your View: Minimum wage is just another tax to pay

President Obama really must believe that the American public cannot think for themselves. He wants to raise the minimum wage up to $9 an hour, and this raise is nothing more than a tax increase with a different name. Here are some reasons why this plan should be rejected:


Feb. 24, 2013 @ 07:35 PM

Your View: Guest column - Don’t worry about any ‘right-wing’ media conspiracy

Radical liberalism, a combination of the worst elements of communism, fascism, Marxism and socialism, is now the greatest threat to our country’s survival .


Feb. 23, 2013 @ 05:40 PM

Your View: Laid-off workers need unemployment benefits

I agree with John Crawford’s guest column (Feb. 5, “Why make life harder than it already is?”) And I am a conservative.  He talked about why it is wrong to make changes to unemployment benefits.


Feb. 22, 2013 @ 09:40 PM

Your View: Puritans didn’t leave England to escape persecution

I am a regular reader of Mark Nickens’ column and I wish to make some comments on his column from Nov. 11. I find that he was perpetuating a myth about the Church of England.


Feb. 21, 2013 @ 09:40 PM

Your View: ‘Sharing the wealth’ is not act of charity

One of my favorite sentences in our Holy Bible is Jeremiah 1, 5, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you.”


Feb. 20, 2013 @ 09:22 PM

Your View: End the idiocy of U.S. foreign aid

With our national debt approaching $17 trillion dollars, how much are we giving to foreign countries as foreign aid and why? The usual answer to “why” is that we are the most powerful and greatest country in the world ... and we try to prove it with aid to other countries. This even though we might be on the verge of a depression ourselves.


Feb. 19, 2013 @ 08:12 PM

Your View: Vouchers challenge public schools to get better

What makes Richard York (Your View, Feb. 8, “Maybe there is benefit in legislative action”) think the public education system is not destroyed already?


Feb. 18, 2013 @ 09:00 PM

Your View: Try democracy in selecting new pope

As a supporter of term limits, I would like to commend Pope Benedict XVI, Joseph Ratzinger, for resigning. History shows that popes and kings usually stay in power until the very end.


Feb. 18, 2013 @ 03:13 AM

Your View: Oil companies’ higher prices will do them in

Most Americans are acutely aware of the recent spike in gasoline prices at the pump, and many are asking why?


Feb. 17, 2013 @ 08:10 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Voter ID law can prevent potential fraud

In light of Carl Routh’s Guest Column on the Feb. 11 Opinion page (“Voter ID laws are attempts to steal elections”), I felt it necessary to respond after information surfaced concerning Melowese Richardson, an “unofficial” poll worker in Ohio, being investigated for voter fraud in the past election.


Feb. 16, 2013 @ 06:13 PM

Your View: Resolve this runaway-obsession with guns

Many excellent, life-saving proposals to curtail gun related deaths are now hopelessly mired in the quasi-religious nonsense of Second Amendment idiocy.


Feb. 15, 2013 @ 02:00 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Obama consigns traditional values to the ‘dark side’

As often happens, science fiction somehow manages to emerge as reality. From the fictional communicators used by the original captain Kirk on the Starship Enterprise to the use of lasers in ways once only imagined, some ideas seem to rise from the realm of mere imagination into real life. Such is the case with mere ideas as well, those that, while once fictional, eventually appear as controlling worldviews.


Feb. 14, 2013 @ 07:34 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Eliminating Saturday mail service is unnecessary

Since your front page story on Feb. 9 (“Many taking postal changes in stride”) didn’t give both sides of the story on the effect eliminating Saturday mail delivery will have on the American public, please allow me to shed some more light on it.