Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Mar. 10, 2013 @ 06:44 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Republican revisions will ruin state government

No truer statement has ever been spoken concerning the Republican’s in  the North Carolina government. They are not there to govern ALL the people of this state, nor are they following a democratic process.


Mar. 10, 2013 @ 01:42 AM

Your View: Who is to blame for the gun violence?

There has been much said about gun control. No amount of gun control will stop the violence; it’s the people who need control.


Mar. 09, 2013 @ 02:03 AM

Your View: $350 is reasonable unemployment safety net

I hate to wake up each morning with a nauseating feeling after reading the opinion page of the Enterprise. I honestly did not believe we have so many bleeding heart, left-wingers in this community. Sometimes I’m actually frightened!


Mar. 07, 2013 @ 08:03 PM

Your View: Board’s moving too slowly on Allen Jay school

It has been months since word from the Guilford County Board of Education that the old Allen Jay campus on Fairfield Road was going to be made into a magnet school.


Mar. 07, 2013 @ 02:07 AM

Your View: President needs to focus on jobs creation

When will this president start working on jobs again? He only wanted to talk about it to get another four years of living in the people’s house, and once he got in he does not even talk about it.


Mar. 06, 2013 @ 04:21 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Christian school grads fare well in survey

As an administrator in Christian education, I read with great interest the results of the recent Cardus Education Survey, a comprehensive study of graduates, ages 24-39, of public, religious, and non-religious private schools. Cardus is a public policy think tank, based in North America, and committed to “the renewal of North American social architecture,” conducting independent and original research.


Mar. 06, 2013 @ 02:15 AM

Your View: PART has become tool of developers

The original intention of Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation was to provide a mass transit service to existing business offices and retail areas, but unfortunately PART was also seen as an opportunity to use the taxpayer’s investment in mass transit to help finance more urban sprawl.


Mar. 05, 2013 @ 03:22 AM

Your View: With all this talk of a government takeover ...

We hear, especially in discussions about gun control, that the government is going to “take over” and then take away our guns. So let’s explore the takeover scenario.


Mar. 04, 2013 @ 04:19 AM

Your View: Government, Obama must save money, cut spending

What does the future hold for us the way things look now? It’s not going to be good.


Mar. 04, 2013 @ 02:16 AM

Your View: Guest Column - More gun bans won’t protect us from criminals

In response to “Resolve this runaway-obsession with guns” (Andrea L. Jackson, Feb. 17):
Where are the facts to support the opinions?


Mar. 03, 2013 @ 03:14 PM

Your View: Why can’t City Council give up a year?

Why is it assumed that the legislation restoring High Point’s previous municipal election cycle must reward the incumbents with a 50-percent extension of their terms?



Mar. 01, 2013 @ 01:09 AM

Your View: Can you relate to President Obama’s lifestyle?

History repeated itself at the inauguration when the Emperor fiddled while Rome burns.


Feb. 28, 2013 @ 01:25 AM

Your View: This is mark of a new beginning

As the beginning of a period of rejuvenation and revitalization takes effect it is important to maintain support and push for its continued growth.  On Feb. 18, the approval by City Council for an urban multi-family residence in Uptowne High Point shows that we are ready for change.


Feb. 28, 2013 @ 01:22 AM

Your View: Guest Column - Kaiser missed with ‘GOP appropriated God’ column

This is in response to The High Point Enterprise’s Jan. 19 article headlined “GOP appropriated God” by Kristine Kaiser.
First of all, I think her article was absurd and very inappropriate. I totally disagree with her theory that the Republican Party has “appropriated God” to promote their agenda in any way!