Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Apr. 16, 2013 @ 07:42 PM

Your View: Buying a handgun is no simple process

As someone who had previously never purchased nor owned a firearm, my recent experience in actually buying a weapon greatly conflicts with what I had been led to believe by most media reports, would be a quick and easy process.


Apr. 16, 2013 @ 03:46 PM

Your View Poll: Cigarette tax hike


Apr. 15, 2013 @ 08:03 PM

Your View: Southwest area volunteers are doing great work

I read with interest the comments made by Latimer Alexander (Your View, April 10 “Southwest High Point has many bright spots”) regarding the efforts being made to renew and refresh the southwest quadrant of our city.  While I respect everyone’s right to his or her opinions, as the Ward 3 City Council member who represents the southwest, I must disagree with the direction of Alexander’s thoughts.


Apr. 15, 2013 @ 02:17 AM

Your View: Most government retirees are overpaid

Thank you to Kelly Grooms (Your View, April 2, “Here’s what firefighter would get in retirement”) for his reply to my earlier guest column; there’s no way to get a discussion going without participation from both sides.


Apr. 14, 2013 @ 05:16 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Spend a minute with the ‘can people’

You see them all the time. On the streets, in ditches, walking through fields and parking lots.
Going through dumpsters and garbage cans. They are the can people.


Apr. 18, 2013 @ 04:31 PM

Your View: Series brought ‘The Bible’ to new generation

WOW! What a historic TV event the History Channel’s broadcast of “The Bible” was. It is estimated that 100 million Americans tuned into at least one episode of the five-part series. My wife and I were glued to the TV and did not miss one minute.


Apr. 12, 2013 @ 10:09 PM

Your View: Trinity 5 lack ability to lead city forward

As a general rule, when I write a piece about the Trinity 5, I receive numerous calls of support and appreciation.  Occasionally, I get a call from a Trinity 5 acolyte and get fussed out about something I have written.





Apr. 10, 2013 @ 07:49 PM

Your View: School safety bill puts children, not politics, first

Over the last few years, many of us have become jaded by partisanship we see in the political process.  Whether that be on the local, state or national stage, it oftentimes appears as if it does not matter if there is a sound, reasonable and much-needed bill that is presented, politicians voted strictly along party lines.


Apr. 09, 2013 @ 09:51 PM

Your View: Southwest High Point has many bright spots

While I appreciate Dorothy Darr and her passionate campaign to clean up other people’s properties that she feels are blighted areas within High Point city limits, her broad brush paints a picture for the readers of the HPE who have never been in Southwest High Point that everything there is the same; that’s just not accurate.


Apr. 08, 2013 @ 08:59 PM

Your View: ID doesn’t disenfranchise blacks at library

I have found it disgusting all the race-baiting and polarization of the people affiliated with the “Democrat” Party.  I think it needs to be said that Voter ID in no way disenfranchises anyone but those who wish to use the Democratic process for unethical means.


Apr. 08, 2013 @ 02:04 AM

Your View: President, Democrats — please do your jobs

I cannot believe that this president and the tax-and-spend Democrats have the nerve to tell all Americans that because of the budget cuts, there will not be any tours of the people’s White House.


Apr. 07, 2013 @ 09:02 PM

Your View: Guest Column - Have drones become America’s death stars?

Lawyers — believe it or not — have a wonderful, if not cardinal, rule of ethics that says they must “avoid even the appearance of impropriety.” Which means — refraining from doing something that looks wrong or immoral, even when it’s not.