Opinion

Jul. 28, 2014 @ 05:58 PM

Your View Poll: Aging water lines



Jul. 13, 2014 @ 08:45 PM

Your View Poll: Impeach Obama?


Jul. 30, 2014 @ 07:55 PM

Your View: Sundays provide good early voting chances

On July 22, the Guilford County Board of Elections (BOE) voted 2 to1 to approve a poll schedule for the November 2014 election that includes two Saturdays but no Sundays for early voting.


Jul. 30, 2014 @ 07:49 PM

Your View: Guest Column - No time for our inaction … or their ineptitude

It doesn’t seem to end for our beleaguered Obama administration. One unresolved domestic scandal is replaced temporarily by another. U.S. inaction or wishy-washiness with the volatile and deteriorating world scene one week is surpassed by our border security crisis the next, which promises to evolve into an even bigger and more divisive humanitarian issue. Steven Spielberg couldn’t devise a darker script with a more complicated yet interlaced storyline.


Jul. 30, 2014 @ 07:33 PM

Clarence Page: Rick Perry's border campaign — for president?

Texas Gov. Rick Perry has a response to the crisis of unaccompanied children crossing our southern border. He's calling up the National Guard. To do what? Provide daycare?


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 PM

Vince Wheeler: Plugging the leaks

Big holes in city streets and busted water pipes have, during the last couple of weeks, produced several news stories and photos in The High Point Enterprise — and headaches for area motorists and residents.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 07:57 PM

Thomas Sowell: Cease the cease-fires

Many years ago, on my first trip around the world, I was struck by how the children in the Middle East — Arab and Israeli alike — were among the nicest looking little children I had seen anywhere.
It was painful to think that they were going to grow up killing each other. But that is exactly what happened.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 07:55 PM

Your View: Guest Column - What if there was no income tax?

The Constitution, in Article 1 did not allow direct taxation of income per the first paragraph of Section 8. The framers of that document had decided that a tax on income was not appropriate. The Progressives in 1912/1913 pushed through a 16th Amendment of only 30 words that allowed the taxation of any and all sources of income. From this action, the IRS and all the rules and regulations we have today have sprung.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 12:52 AM

Your View Poll: Showroom district


Jul. 28, 2014 @ 07:21 PM

Your View: Revive trolley system instead of dieting street

I read with great interest Rebecca Sage’s guest column July 24 regarding High Point’s need to rethink revitalization. I found what she said spot on, but I would like to add to her suggestions.


Jul. 28, 2014 @ 07:18 PM

John Hood: Tax credit claims are poorly scripted

RALEIGH — When liberals debate tax policy, it can be hard to keep track of their current positions. They keep changing.


Jul. 27, 2014 @ 08:06 PM

Your View: Democratic socialism makes nation run

A recent criticism of Obamacare is that the subsidies are socialism. Helping those who have less ability to pay for health insurance to be able to actually acquire coverage may be an example of democratic socialism, but so also is Medicaid, Medicare, Social Security, and our federal income tax.


Jul. 27, 2014 @ 08:05 PM

Your View: Guest Column - ‘Orphaned’ streets need Trinity Council attention

In the fall of 2013 while sitting on Trinity City Council, I listened to the complaint of a resident concerning the condition of the street on which she lived. Following up after that meeting I discovered that she was not alone in her plight.


Jul. 27, 2014 @ 08:03 PM

Clarence Page: Obamacare teeters on a typo

Remember how Democrats rushed into passing President Obama's Affordable Care Act back in 2010 while they still had the votes? Now health care for millions teeters on a typo.