Few filers so far for Trinity seats

Jul. 11, 2013 @ 10:00 AM

This year’s election season is expected to be an active one in Trinity, but you wouldn’t know it after the first few days of the candidate filing period. 
Only two candidates have so far officially tossed their hats into the ring to run for spots on the city’s governing body.
Mayor Carlton Boyles on Monday filed to run for another term in office and longtime City Council member Karen Bridges on Wednesday filed for re-election to her Ward 3 seat.
The other council spots before Trinity voters this fall are the Ward 1 seat held by Kristen Varner, the Ward 2 seat held by Barry Lambeth and the Ward 4 seat held by Tommy Johnson.
Varner and Johnson said Wednesday they remain undecided on whether to seek re-election. Lambeth could not be reached for comment.
Candidate filing for this year’s election in Trinity and other municipalities across the region and state continues through noon July 19.
Trinity has been involved in several controversies in recent years, which included the forced departure of former City Manager Ann Bailie in 2012.
Controversy continued to swirl recently, when the council failed to draw a quorum at a special called meeting and couldn’t take action to pass needed budget amendments before the end of the 2013 fiscal year.
In Thomasville, Mayor Joe Bennett has filed for another term and will face a challenge from former City Councilman J.W. Mathis, who filed on Tuesday to run for mayor.
Four candidates have filed for City Council — incumbents Ronald Bratton and Raleigh York Jr. and challengers Joe Leonard and Jason Varner. Thomasville voters will fill all seven council seats, as well as the mayor’s post, this fall.
In Wallburg, Mayor Allen Todd and Town Councilmen Zane Hedgecock and Steve Yokeley have filed for re-election. Residents of the northern Davidson County town will fill two council seats in the general election.
In Denton, Mayor Scott Morris filed for re-election. Voters of the southern Davidson County town also will pick two Town Council members. One incumbent council member, Wayne Plaster, has filed for re-election.